Listen Live
Listen Live

On Air Now

Dave Vaught
10:00am - 12:00pm

Current Weather

Inductees To The Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Announced

The 2020 Inductees to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame have just been announced. This year’s class includes Steve Earle, Bobbie Gentry, Kent Blazy, Brett James and Spooner Oldham.

This year’s class was informed of their selection via Zoom calls thanks to the coronavirus. The pandemic is also pushing the actual induction ceremony to November 1, 2021, where they and the 2021 class will be inducted together at the Music City Center in Nashville.

While Earle and Gentry wrote many songs for themselves, the other inductees are known for songs made famous by other artists. Blazy wrote such songs as Garth Brooks’ “If Tomorrow Never Comes” and “Ain’t Going Down (Til The Sun Comes Up),” while James wrote Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus Takes The Wheel,” and Rascal Flatts’ “Summer Nights,” and Oldham wrote The Box Tops’ “Cry Like A Baby,” and James and Bobby Purify’s “I’m Your Puppet.”